Pre-Season 1977 – Bionic Bohs

August 27, 2007 at 12:23 am 3 comments

By the time I was sixteen years old, I was more of a Bohs fan than a Leeds fan. I regularly brought home-made banners to games. My mother helped me make two; I cut out white letters which she stitched onto black and red sheets. One read simply ‘Bionic Bohs’ (the bionic man was a popular television character) and the other, made for a UEFA Cup game against Newcastle, read ‘Gypsies Eat Magpies’ (the nicknames of both teams). I hand-painted another longer banner, rather than have my mother stitch so many letters. It read ‘Thor-lough O’Connor: God of Goals.’ That one used to get a few odd looks by people unfamiliar with the ranks of the Norse deities, who would helpfully inform me ‘that’s not how you spell Turlough.’ And Denis Maher, a friend I met on the terraces who is now a director at Bohs, had a very nice ‘Ah, That’s Bohs’ banner – a play on the ‘Ah, That’s Bass’ slogan of one of the League of Ireland sponsors of the 1970s.

I generally went to all of the home games, standing behind whichever goal Bohs were attacking in each half. It was literally like the old joke ‘How can you tell an Irish football match? The crowd changes ends at half time’. Sometimes I went with local friends; other times with people I had met on the terraces such as Denis Maher. I always wore a plain red and black scarf, which I still have, and a denim jacket with numerous Leeds patches sewn on to the back, which I annoyingly lost. And I usually went to the Dublin away games, as well as some ventures beyond the pale. Away games were often unpleasant for a sixteen-year-old, particularly at Shamrock Rovers, Waterford, Limerick and Dundalk. The English football hooligan craze was at its peak, and these clubs in particular had their share of wannabe idiots who were best avoided.

1977-78 was a very important season for me. Neither Leeds nor Bohs had won a major trophy in the previous season; the first time this had happened since 1973. And Leeds had pretty much collapsed, so Bohs really had to win something this year, or else my world would surely come to an end.

Also, my footballing schizophrenia had returned with a vengeance: my childhood hero Johnny Giles had taken over as player manager of Shamrock Rovers, and was planning to dominate Irish football from Milltown for the foreseeable future. He was bringing with him Ray Treacey and Eamon Dunphy, two experienced players who were also qualified coaches. To complicate matters further, I was doing my leaving cert this year. I would have to focus somewhat on studying, no doubt to the detriment of my footballing duties.

Most of the rest of this blog will be a diary of that season, encompassing some of the history and tradition of the teams that we faced, together with a little bit of the flavour of being a sixteen-year-old Dublin schoolboy in the late 1970s.

Entry filed under: Bohemians, Other Articles.

The 1970s – Irish International Bohemians Cork Football from Fordsons to Cork Albert

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. SevenFortyFive  |  September 18, 2007 at 8:24 pm

    There’s a laminated Bohs team picture from that season on eBay at the moment, from SHOOT I think, will come up under a “bohemians” search.

    [Reposted from TheBohs.Com Forum]

    Reply
  • 2. Deco  |  September 18, 2007 at 8:33 pm

    “And Denis Maher, a friend I met on the terraces who is now a director at Bohs, had a very nice ‘Ah, That’s Bohs’ banner – a play on the ‘Ah, That’s Bass’ slogan of one of the League of Ireland sponsors of the 1970s”

    Class, nice one BARD

    [Reposted from TheBohs.Com Forum]

    Reply
  • 3. BARD  |  September 18, 2007 at 8:48 pm

    I remember making the “ah thats Bohs” banner – we were among the original flag and banner makers. I also remember it being stolen in Dundalk and having to chase a Dundalk idiot around Oriel to recover it.

    [Reposted from TheBohs.Com Forum]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


A Blog by Michael Nugent

Welcome to my blog about following Bohs in the 1970s. Please feel free to leave a comment.

I also write That's Ireland, a blog about living in the maddest country on earth.

Feeds

August 2007
M T W T F S S
    Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

That’s Ireland

As mentioned above, if for some strange reason there is more to your life than football, I also write That's Ireland, a blog about living in the maddest country on earth.

